top of page

The Next Wave Initiative has announced open submissions for Cycle 3 of its scholarship program. Founded by Broadway multi-hyphenate, Douglas Lyons (Parade at City Center, and Chicken and Biscuits,), The Next Wave Initiative is a developmental branch of The Directors Company committed to amplifying future Black voices in the American theatre. All of the proceeds from the initiative funds its scholarships, awards and operational costs.

Applications will open January 23th, 2023 and must be submitted by March 16th, 2023 at 11:59pm EST.

Finalists will be announced in Spring 2023.

All applicants must be Black and pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in one of the four disciplines listed. All genders and ages are welcomed. To learn more about applying or donating to the program please click here.

NWI award winners_edited.jpg

 Since its launch in June 2020, NWI has successfully raised over $30,000 towards its programming. 2022 NWI Alvin Ailey Award winner Isio-Maya, is currently making her

Broadway debut in The Lion King.

bottom of page